困难 2797


Kazuo Ishiguro, the 2017 Nobel Laureate in Literature 


Kazuo Ishiguro, the Japanese-born British novelist, has won the 2017 Nobel Prize in Lliterature, announced the Swedish Academy on October 5th.


Kazuo Ishiguro best known for his novel, The Remains of the Day (1989), the academy praised him as a writer “who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world.”



“If you mix Jane Austen and Kafka, you have Ishiguro — but you have to add a little bit of Marcel Proust into the mix, and then you stir, but not too much, and then you have his writings. He’s developed an aesthetic universe all his own. He is exploring what you have to forget in order to survive in the first place as an individual or as a society.” Sara Danius, the academy’s permanent secretary, said immediately after the announcement.



The award marks a return to a more traditional literary author. Last year, the prize was awarded to American musician Bob Dylan, a surprising decision that sparked criticism from some quarters. In 2015, the Belarusan investigative journalist Svetlana Alexievich won the prize. Ishiguro, by contrast, is a much-admired writer who sits comfortably alongside such previous winners as Toni Morrison and Alice Munro.



Ishiguro was born in Nagasaki in 1954 and then moved to England with his family in 1960. He earned a master’s degree in 1980 and became a British citizen in 1982, the year he published his first novel, A Pale View of Hills, the background of which is set in Nagasaki after the atomic bombing.



His work is marked by a pervasive sense of painful loneliness. Joyce Carol Oates has called Ishiguro “one of our most eloquent poets of loss.” Reviewing his latest novel, The Buried Giant, the former Book World editor Marie Arana wrote, “His sensibility is neither Japanese nor English; it stands apart from any one culture. If these books have anything in common, it is that an unspoken secret is entombed at each core — an elusive truth that is inferred, but that no one quite understands or can fully articulate.”


Who Won the Nobels in 2017?


The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was firstly announced in 2017. On October 2nd, this prize was jointly awarded to three American scientists, Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm.



The following day witnessed another three American scientists’ winning the Nobel Prize in Physics. They are Rainer Weiss, Barry C. Barish and Kip S. Thorne. The academy awards them “for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves”.



On October 4th, the day before Ishiguro won the Nobel Prize in Literature, The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences decided to award the 2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry to Jacques Dubochet from University of Lausanne, Switzerland, Joachim Frank from Columbia University, USA and Richard Henderson from MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK, for developing cryo-electron microscopy for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution.



The Nobel Peace Prize was again awarded to an organization, The International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN), “for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons.



The 2017 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences was awarded to Richard H. Thaler from University of Chicago, USA, for his contributions to behavioral economics.



abyss: n. 深渊

illusory: adj. 幻觉的

molecular: adj. 分子的

circadian: adj. 昼夜节奏的

  • 字数:612个
  • 易读度:困难
  • 来源:互联网 2017-10-13